Revisiting The Dandy Warhols’ ‘Thirteen Tales From Urban Bohemia’

Thirteen years ago, The Dandy Warhols, at that moment still a one-hit wonder with “Not If You Were The Last Junkie On Earth,” which signaled the end of that stage of heroin chic, released thirteen new tracks under a title that can still be cringed about. But Thirteen Tales From Urban Bohemia, which gets the expanded remaster treatment this summer, is far better than you remember.

Where sophomore album The Dandy Warhols Come Down was firmly planted in the 1990s notion of crossover alternative rock that could get radio play, Thirteen Tales seems to embrace a new century of sound, going more psychedelic and, at certain times, heavier. All three opening tracks last longer than five minutes, immersing the listener in a dope haze, and “Nietzche” clobbers you right when you’ve settled in. 

All the same, the barn-burners don’t sprawl out of control like the band’s earlier Sonic Youth-worship tend to. In fact they lose the squall completely on “Sleep,” a powerful narcotic which is still the most beautiful song in their repertoire. But the crown jewel, from a lyrical and power pop perspective, is “Bohemian Like You,” a mind-meltingly catchy tune you’ll know all the words to as soon as you’re done listening to it for the first time. Contains the useful catchall excuse “No I haven’t heard your band / ’Cause you guys are pretty new.”

The remastered double CD arrives June 11, containing all this and a collection of demos, outtakes and unreleased songs. Here’s the entire tracklist—oh, and for those of you too young to know it, “bohemian” is what we used to say instead of “hipster.” Hope that clears things up.


1. Godless

2. Mohammed

3. Nietzsche

4. Country Leaver

5. Solid

6. Horse Pills

7. Get Off

8. Sleep

9. Cool Scene

10. Bohemian Like You

11. Shakin’

12. Big Indian

13. The Gospel


1.  Later The Show

2.  Ras Tafar and I

3.  Godless (Alt Vox Melody)

4.  Cool Scene (Early Mix)

5.  Country Leaver (Early Mix)

6.  Bohemian Like You (Courtney Home Demo)

7.  Mohammed (Courtney Home Demo)

8.  Big Indian (Courtney Cassette 4-Track)

9.  Big Indian (Courtney Home Demo)

10.  Unknown

11.  Godless (Courtney Home Demo)

12.  Cool Scene (Courtney Home Demo)

13.  Dub Song (Courtney Home Demo)

A Brief History of David LaChapelle’s Music Videos

Famed fashion photographer David LaChapelle does more than snap pictures for advertising campaigns and pal around with the world’s most glamorous trans woman. LaChapelle has a very solid resume as a music video director.

The latest example of LaChapelle’s work is the just-released video for Florence and the Machine’s “Spectrum,” a sexy, dramatic, sparkly take on the powerful song.

But it’s been a long road getting there. From early ‘90s videos for artists like Penny Ford (we didn’t know either) through long-lasting collaborations with icons like Elton John and Christina Aguilera, LaChapelle has spent years making music videos—and some of them are pretty great. Here’s a look back at five favorites.

Amy Winehouse – "Tears Dry On Their Own"

Gwen Stefani feat. Eve – "Rich Girl"

Macy Gray – "She Ain’t Right For You"

The Vines – "Outtathaway"

The Dandy Warhols – "Not If You Were the Last Junkie on Earth"

The Dandy Warhols Have a New Song, ‘Sad Vacation’

It’s been a cool minute since the Dandy Warhols were sort of a big deal, but indie rock careerism stops for nothing: They’re back with "Sad Vacation," the first single off their first new album in three years, This Machine. Built around a throaty bassline, it sounds as gloomy as you would if you realized the ’90s were more than a decade ago. But the Dandys are still great at embodying a smoky type of disaffected cool, so check it out after the click.

You can also download the song over at Chicagoist, should it be to your liking. This Machine is out on April 24.. Have a happy weekend!