Antony Hegarty’s New Single ‘4 DEGREES’ is a Powerful Cry For Environmental Reform

Photo by Inez & Vinoodh

Antony Hegarty, the otherworldly operatic voice behind Antony And The Johnsons, has teamed up with an unlikely pair of co-producers—Hudson Mohawke and Oneohtrix Point Never—to craft her forthcoming full-length album, HOPELESSNESS. Packaged with the fresh, new moniker ANOHNI, Hegarty has previously described the collaborative project as an “experimental electronic record with quite a dark thematic undertow”—a promise that’s upheld with the LP’s lead melancholic single, “4 DEGREES.” 

The track was released yesterday “in solidarity with the climate conference in Paris,” Hegarty explained on her Facebook. Lyrically, the singer reflects on her own destructive behaviors that affect the environment, challenging listeners to also “be brave” and “tell the truth” in order to create a new world. The title alone, “4 DEGREES,” seemingly refers to the scientific theory, which suggests it’d take a mere two degree shift in temperature for catastrophic doom to ensue.

“I want to hear the dogs crying for water, she wails, self-aware, penning what reads like an apocalyptic death wish. “I want to see the fish go belly up in the sea; And all those lemurs and all those tiny creatures, I want to see them burn.” Such extreme lyrics seem irrational at first, but considering our world carelessly ignores the realities of climate change, we’re all ultimately fueling global degeneration—inevitably begging to see these “tiny creatures” burn.

Hegarty first debuted the climate change anthem at Primavera Sound Festival last spring, unveiling the anticipated recipe of her organic vocals and powerful production from two of electronic’s biggest contemporary names. ANOHNI seems like an unlikely trio, especially considering Mohawke’s core contributions to hip-hop (Kanye West, Drake, Pusha T), but it’s a fusion of disparate sounds that really works; the monumental horns from Mohawke’s “Chimes” get strung throughout “4 DEGREES,” as incessant, tribal drums reinforce the narrative’s importance to create an epic soundtrack for a future climate-concious generation. Listen, below:


Your Weekend Jams From ‘The Bling Ring’ Soundtrack

Sofia Coppola’s much-hyped upcoming flick The Bling Ring may be the second all-star-cast-plays-teenage-girls-doing-crimes this summer, but it’s the first based on a true story involving terrible reality show alumnae. And, from the tracklist released this week, it looks like the film will have a pretty excellent soundtrack.

Music supervisor Brian Reitzell has worked with Coppola before on other films with excellent soundtracks, including The Virgin Suicides and the Jesus and Mary Chain-tastic Lost in Translation. Joining Reitzell is David Lopatin, better known as Oneohtrix Point Never, who is in charge of the score. The two come together for the “Bling Ring Suite.” The musical stylings and selections of both will certainly have a chance to shine in The Bling Ring.

And, looking at the tracklist as is, the soundtrack includes some excellent weekend party jams, assuming your party really likes Kanye West and krautrock. Which is an entirely possible and workable combination. So let’s kick this Friday off with some key selections from the Bling Ring soundtrack, shall we? Have a good weekend, everybody!

Sleigh Bells – " Crown On The Ground"

Rick Ross (feat. Lil Wayne] "9 Piece"

Rye Rye (feat. M.I.A.) – "Sunshine"

Azealia Banks (feat. Lazy Jay) – "212"

Oneohtrix Point Never – "Ouroboros"

2 Chainz – "Money Machine"

M.I.A. -"Bad Girls"

Kanye West (feat. Rihanna) – “All of the Lights"

Ester Dean (feat. Chris Brown) – "Drop It Low"

Reema Major – "Gucci Bag"

Can -"Halleluwah"

Kanye West – "Power"

Klaus Schulze -"Freeze"

deadmau5 -"FML"

Brian Reitzell and Daniel Lopatin – "Bling Ring Suite"

Phoenix – "Bankrupt!"

Frank Ocean (feat. Earl Sweatshirt) – "Super Rich Kids"

[via Pitchfork]

Hear Oneohtrix Point Never’s ‘I Only Have Eyes For You’

Artist Doug Aitken’s latest project, Song 1, involves 11 high-definition projectors covering all 360 degrees of the shell of Washington, D.C.’s Hirschhorn Museum with moving images for the better part of a month. It’s pretty bad ass.

But tomorrow night, something that’s even more impressive will take place. Aitken is hosting one of his “Happening” events, featuring live music—all based around the old standby “I Only Have Eyes For You”—from the likes of No Age, High Places, members of Animal Collective and more. The event will be live in D.C. and will stream live for the rest of the world here

To get you ready, Daniel Lopatin, of Ford & Lopatin and Oneohtrix Point Never, has posted to SoundCloud Oneohtrix’s weird, spacey version of the song—which Pitchfork already named Best New Track.

For a song that Aitken told Wired is “almost embedded in our DNA,” Lopatin’s rendition is almost unrecognizable, but that’s definitely not a bad thing. It’s artsy and offbeat and exactly what what watching Aitken’s dreamy, strange art stream across the curved face of a national museum should sound like. Check it out below.

Pitchfork Music Festival Finalizes Lineup: Beach House, Wild Flag & More Join the Fun

Today, Pitchfork added the final batch of bands to its 2012 music festival lineup, well ahead of the July 13-15 weekend where the excitement will go down in Chicago’s Union Park: Beach House, Wild Flag, Real Estate, Atlas Sound, Big K.R.I.T., Nicolas Jaar, Cults, Chavez, Ty Segall, Oneohtrix Point Never, Youth Lagoon, Thee Oh Sees, King Krule, Lotus Plaza, Dirty Beaches, Lower Dens, Milk Music, the Psychic Paramount, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Outer Minds, and A Lull. The festival might not ever be as fun as the year when they sold Sparks at the beer tents, but sometimes life forces you to make sacrifices for sanity’s sake. You can look at the final lineup, which is looking pretty healthy, after the click.

Pitchfork, in my opinion, is the best deal in national music festivals. For the cost of a one-way plane ticket, you get to see dozens of relevant, high quality bands at varying points in their life cycle: buzz acts finding their live presence, indie veterans who’ve settled into a comfortable set list, and the random top-shelf name brand gifted with a headlining set for a crowd that’s absolutely reveretial of their presence. And the people watching! The people watching is absolutely superb. Three-day passes are sold out, though you can still purchase individual one-day tickets if that weekend is still looking free on your schedule.  

Friday, July 13:

A$AP Rocky
Willis Earl Beal
Big K.R.I.T.
Clams Casino
Dirty Projectors
Tim Hecker
Lower Dens 
The Olivia Tremor Control
Outer Minds 
Purity Ring

Saturday, July 14:

The Atlas Moth
Atlas Sound 
Danny Brown
Cloud Nothings
Flying Lotus
Godspeed You! Black Emperor
Hot Chip
Nicolas Jaar 
Lotus Plaza 
The Psychic Paramount 
Schoolboy Q
Sleigh Bells
Wild Flag 
Youth Lagoon 

Sunday, July 15:

A Lull 
Beach House 
Dirty Beaches 
The Field
King Krule 
Kendrick Lamar
The Men
Milk Music 
Thee Oh Sees 
Oneohtrix Point Never 
Real Estate 
Ty Segall 
Unknown Mortal Orchestra 
Vampire Weekend