Prince, Donna Summer Make National Recording Registry

Among the new music that will reportedly be added to the Library of Congress’ National Recording Registry today are some surprising gems.

According to ArtsBeat, the registry has chosen to include in its hallowed archives 25 “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant” recordings. Some of those that made it are Donna Summer’s “I Feel Love,” Sugar Hill Gang’s “Rapper’s Delight,” a live, 1977 performance by The Grateful Dead, Prince’s soundtrack to Purple Rain, and the Love stunner Forever Changes.

Not sure what constitutes a national treasure of a recording? Check out our favorites below.

Donna Summer’s “I Feel Love"

Sugar Hill Gang’s “Rapper’s Delight”

Love’s “Bummer In The Summer"

The Grateful Dead’s “Morning Dew”

Share Button

Facebook Comments