Meet the (Very Predictable) CFDA Finalists of 2010

It’s that time of year again: CFDA’s Fashion Fund Award Nominees are out, and the entire lot is a familiar one. Cathy Horyn says of the lineup, “For women’s designer of the year: Alexander Wang, Marc Jacobs and Donna Karan; for men’s: Michael Bastian, Tom Ford and David Neville and Marcus Wainwright of Rag & Bone; for accessories: Alexis Bittar, Proenza Schouler and Marc Jacobs.” Meanwhile, “The candidates for the Swarovski young design award (women’s): Joseph Altuzarra, Prabal Gurung and Jason Wu (that’s a great group; interesting outcome),” she says.

Although, considering Horyn recently penned a piece on the industry’s ones to watch being Wang, Gurung and Altuzarra (not to mention buzz surrounding Wu hasn’t died down since the Inauguration), the outcome is by no means surprising. As for the lads, Horyn says, “for the young men’s award: Richard Chai, Patrik Ervell and Simon Spurr. And for Swarovski young accessory design award: Eddie Borgo, Dana Lorenz and Alexander Wang.” Altogether it’s a very predictable roster; meaning while well deserved, it’s unlikely that this year’s awards will highlight any especially new talent in need of a bit of spotlight.

Then again, considering the CFDA recently changed its bylaws to allow Diane Von Furstenberg to continue on as President for the third term in a row, it doesn’t appear as though the organization is in any way looking to revolutionize its approach. Set to take place June 7 at Lincoln Center, the affair will also include a special tribute to Alexander McQueen and a Fashion Icon award being gifted to the one and only Iman, while Michael Kors will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. Christopher Bailey at Burberry will also be granted The International Award, while Kim Hastreiter of Paper Magazine is to be honored with The Eugenia Sheppard journalism award.

Share Button

Facebook Comments